Skip to main content

NAACP Announces Nominees The 42nd Annual Image Awards (Recording)*


Outstanding New Artist
B.o.B Rebel Rock/Grand Hustle/Atlantic
Bruno Mars Elektra Records
Jason Derulo Warner Bros. Records
Nicki Minaj Young Money/Cash Money/Universal Motown
Willow Roc Nation/Columbia Records

Outstanding Male Artist
Cee Lo GreencElektra Records
Jay-Z  Roc Nation/Def Jam
Kanye West Island Def Jam Music Group
Ne-Yo Island Def Jam Music Group
Usher Laface/Jive Records

Outstanding Female Artist
Chrisette Michele Island Def Jam Music Group
Corinne Bailey Rae Capitol Records
Mary J. Blige Geffen Records/Matriarch
Rihanna Island Def Jam Music Group
Sade Epic Records

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration
Diddy-Dirty Money Bad Boy/Interscope
Eminem & Rihanna Shady/Aftermath/Interscope
Herbie Hancock (feat. India.Arie, Chaka Khan and others) Hancock Music
John Legend and The Roots Columbia Records
The Black Eyed Peas Interscope

Outstanding Jazz Album
Dee Dee Bridgewater "Dee Dee Bridgewater Eleanora Fagan (1915-1959): To Billie With Love From Dee Dee" EmArcy, Decca Label Group, DDB Records 
The Wynton Marsalis Quintet & Richard Galliano "From Billie Holiday to Edith Piaf - Live in Marciac" The Orchard
Geri Allen & Timeline Live "Geri Allen & Timeline Live" Motema Music 
Herbie Hancock "The Imagine Project" Hancock Music
Bobby McFerrin "VOCAbuLarieS" Universal Music Group/Decca/Emarcy

Outstanding Gospel Album (Traditional or Contemporary)
Kirk Whalum "Gospel According to Jazz, Chapter III" Rendezvous Music/Mack Avenue Records
Marvin Sapp "Here I Am" Verity Gospel Music Group
Brian Courtney Wilson "Just Love Deluxe" Music World Gospel
Tamela Mann "Master Plan" TillyMann
Mavis Staples "You Are Not Alone" ANTI Records

Outstanding World Music Album
Rocky Dawuni "Hymns for the Rebel Soul" Aquarian Records
Angelique Kidjo "Oyo" Razor & Tie
Herbie Hancock "The Imagine Project" Hancock Music
Michael Franti "The Sound of Sunshine" EMI Music
Bobby McFerrin "VOCAbuLarieS" Universal Music Group/Decca/Emarcy

Outstanding Music Video
Maxwell "Fistful of Tears" Columbia Records
Sade "Soldier of Love" Epic Records
Alicia Keys "Un-thinkable (I'm Ready)" J Records
Willow "Whip My Hair" Roc Nation/Columbia Records
Beyoncé Knowles "Why Don't You Love Me" Columbia Records

Outstanding Song
Fantasia "Bittersweet" J Records
Maxwell "Fistful of Tears" Columbia Records
Cee-Lo Green "Forget You" Elektra Records
Sade "Soldier of Love" Epic Records
Alicia Keys "Un-thinkable (I'm Ready)" J Records

Outstanding Album
Kanye West "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" Island Def Jam Music Group
Smokey Robinson "Now and Then" Saguaro Road/Cracker Barrel/Robso Records
Usher "Raymond vs. Raymond" Laface/Jive Records
Sade "Soldier of Love" Epic Records
John Legend and The Roots "Wake Up!" Columbia Records


Popular posts from this blog

Today In Black

Rachel Boone was a slave of the decendents of the Daniel Boone family who escaped to an army camp near Miami, MO. She gave birth to a son & moved to Warrensburg, MO. Her son became "Blind" Boone, famous classical pianist known all over the U.S., Canada & Mexico who also reportedly played in Europe. He became known as the "pioneer of ragtime" because he brought in ragtime music to the concert stage as an encore or when the audience became restless, saying "Let's put the cookies on the bottom shelf where everybody can reach them.". His motto was "Merit, not sympathy, wins."

The first Kentucky Derby is won by African American jockey Oliver Lewis riding the horse Aristides. 14 of the 15 jockeys in the race are African Americans.

1909* White firemen on Georgia Railroad struck to protest employment of Blacks.

National Baptist Convention chartered.

U.S. Supreme Court in landmark Brown v. Board of Education decision declared s…

9 Types of Sex Every Woman SHOULD Have

There are a million different ways to twist the sheets. Just check the Kama Sutra, but no one can try them all. That said, there are a few types of sex every woman should experience at least once. Ladies, LISTEN UP, because if you haven’t done the deed these nine ways, you’re totally missing out!!

I’m Sorry Sex*
Otherwise known as make up sex. It’s what happens when that thin line between anger and passion is crossed and the result is most often spontaneous and mind blowing.

Vacation Sex*
It’s not for everyone, but we’re here to tell you, sex in paradise with a gorgeous man you just met can often be the most thrilling kind. (As long as it’s safe sex, of course.) He’s mysterious and gorgeous and he makes you feel sexy – a recipe for vacation bliss.

We Might Get Caught Sex*
You know that moment when the sparks are flying between you but you just can’t sneak away. Toss those inhibitions and do it anyway. Go find your own little corner of heaven and steal a moment all your own. Sure, you might …

Women's History Month Spotlight: Harriet Tubman

In Honor of Women's History Month  we will provide you with information on Outstanding women and organizations whom have made an impact not only in  African American history. .but most of all the World.
Today we highlight and pay our Respects to the Life and Legacy of Harriet Tubman!! 

Harriet Tubman is perhaps the most well-known of all the Underground Railroad's "conductors." During a ten-year span she made 19 trips into the South and escorted over 300 slaves to freedom. And, as she once proudly pointed out to Frederick Douglass, in all of her journeys she  "never lost a single passenger."

Tubman was born a slave in Maryland's Dorchester County around 1820. At age five or six, she began to work as a house servant. Seven years later she was sent to work in the fields. While she was still in her early teens, she suffered an injury that would follow her for the rest of her life. Always ready to stand up for someone else, Tubman blocked a doorway to protect ano…